Libraries: Women's & Gender Studies: Reference

Reference

Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary and subject specific research in areas such as art, business, education, history, etc.
Salem History

Provides access to reference works from Salem Press including: The 70's in America, the 90's in America, Great Events from History: GLBT Events, Great Lives from History: Notorious Lives, and Milestone Documents in American History

Encyclopedias

Britannica Academic
Includes the Encyclopedia Britannica, World Data Analyst (statistics on the countries of the world), Gateway to the Classics (significant works in literature, philosophy, history, and science), Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, and more.

Encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Culture
This searchable and browsable encyclopedia includes bibliographies, citation information, and a discussion board.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
Includes over 900 full-text articles addressing topics such as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history.

Organizations/Associations

Human Rights Campaign
As the largest GLBTQ civil rights organization in the U.S., HRC works to ensure equality through political action and educational outreach.
National Center for Transgender Equality
Leading social advocacy group for transgender people
National Organization for Women
Since its founding in 1966, NOW's goal has been to take action to bring about equality for all women. NOW works to eliminate discrimination and harassment in the workplace, schools, the justice system, and all other sectors of society; secure abortion, birth control and reproductive rights for all women; end all forms of violence against women; eradicate racism, sexism and homophobia; and promote equality and justice in our society.
National Women's Studies Association
Established in 1977, NWSA is a professional organization dedicated to leading the field of women's studies and gender studies, as well as its teaching, learning, research, and service wherever they be found.
Point Foundation
Point Foundation provides financial support, mentoring, leadership training and hope to meritorious students who are marginalized due to sexual orientation, gender identity or gender expression.
Rural Women's Studies Association
An international association for the advancement and promotion of farm and rural women's gender studies in historical perspective.
Women’s Sports Foundation
Founded in 1974 by tennis legend, Billie Jean King, the Women’s Sports Foundation is dedicated to creating leaders by ensuring all girls access to sports.