Libraries: School Psychology, School Counseling, Mental Health Counseling: Databases

Recommended Databases

PsycINFO is the largest database for literature centered on psychology and the behavioral and social sciences. See this fact sheet for more information.

PsycARTICLES includes over 180,000 full text articles from more than 100 peer reviewed journals published by the American Psychological Association. See this fact sheet for more information.

PsycINFO Contains nearly 2.3 million citations and summaries of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, all in psychology and related disciplines, dating as far back as the 1800s. 97 percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed.
PsycARTICLES Contains full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. The database contains almost 200,000 articles from about 100 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and allied organizations.
Annual Review of Psychology Covers significant developments in the field of psychology. In publication since 1950.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection Provides access to more than 530 full-text journals, including Canadian Journal of Psychiatry, European Archives of Psychiatry & Clinical Neuroscience, European Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, European Journal of Neuroscience, International Journal of Behavioral Medicine, International Journal of Psychiatry in Clinical Practice, International Review of Psychiatry, Journal of Clinical & Experimental Neuropsychology, Journal of Mental Health, Social Psychiatry & Psychiatric Epidemiology and many more. Has particularly strong coverage in child and adolescent psychology and various areas of counseling.
Psychology Collection Academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. The database offers content of interest to both researchers and general users.
Psychology Database Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 1,000 titles, and full-text for selected titles. In addition to clinical and social psychology, it also provides coverage of related disciplines including genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.

Other Suggested Databases

JSTOR
Contains almost 1,000 full-text journals spanning multiple disciplines. Some journals go to back to the mid-1800's. There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issues and the issues available in JSTOR.
Project MUSE
Provides full-text articles from over 300 high-quality, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. Most journals are available beginning between 1990 and 2000 to the present.
ScienceDirect
Contains more than 9 million full-text articles and 60 million citations and abstracts from 1,900 journals in the natural and social sciences, medicine, technology, and business.
Social Science Database
Journals in the social sciences.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic OneFile
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly, multidisciplinary database containing more than 6,100 full-text journals, and indexing/abstracts for more than 10,100 journals.
Ebook Central
Contains the full text of over 150,000 academic and general-interest books. Subject areas covered include business and economics, computers, technology and engineering, humanities, life and physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences.
eBook Collection on EBSCOhost
A multidisciplinary collection of about 150,000 electronic books.
General OneFile
News, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
JSTOR
Contains almost 1,000 full-text journals spanning multiple disciplines. Some journals go to back to the mid-1800's. There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issues and the issues available in JSTOR.
MasterFILE Premier
Provides full text for more than 1,730 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues and much more.
ProQuest Central
A multidisciplinary database of over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. Subjects covered include business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses
A comprehensive database of dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries. Many can be borrowed from the publishing institution through interlibrary loan (ask at the library for more information).
WorldCat (FirstSearch)
WorldCat lets you search the collections of libraries around the world.
WorldCat.org
WorldCat.org is a public website that lets you search the holdings of thousands of libraries worldwide.

School Psychology, School Counseling, Mental Health Counseling: Databases

Recommended Databases

Other Suggested Databases

Related Topic: Education

Related Topic: Health/Medicine

Interdisciplinary Databases