Libraries: ARTH 141: 20th Century Art: Articles

Modernism: 1850-1950

Black Iris, 1926
Georgia O'Keeffe (American, 1887–1986)
Oil on canvas
Metropolitan Museum of Art

Art & Architecture Source
Indexes and abstracts articles in visual arts periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. In addition to articles, Art Source indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Art Sources includes the contents of Art Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective.
ARTbibliographies Modern
Index to citations of periodicals, books, exhibition catalogs, and dissertations covering various aspects of late 19th through 21st century art.
Bibliography of the History of Art
The Bibliography of the History of Art is the world's most comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of western art.

Dissertations in Art History and Visual Studies (College Art Association)
Listing of PhD dissertations in art history, architectural history, and visual culture. Includes completed dissertations as well as those in progress, from North American academic institutions. Part of caa.reviews which includes "critical reviews of books, exhibitions, and projects in all areas and periods of art history and visual studies
published by the College Art Association."

JSTOR
Contains almost 1,000 full-text journals spanning multiple disciplines. Some journals go to back to the mid-1800's. There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issues and the issues available in JSTOR.
Project MUSE
Provides full-text articles from over 300 high-quality, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. Most journals are available beginning between 1990 and 2000 to the present.
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly, multidisciplinary database containing more than 6,100 full-text journals, and indexing/abstracts for more than 10,100 journals.

he/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

Pronouns: he/him/his
Scholes Library
Office # 234

607 871 2944

Subjects: Art & Art History, Dance, Music, Theatre, Visual Resources