A library database is a an electronic collection of published works. Library databases have been curated to help you research different topics. Most databases will have full text and abstracting/indexing for academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and other resources.
Full text means that the database will provide digital access to a copy of the articles in the journal.
Abstracting and indexing means that the database provides basic information about articles in a journal. This information usually includes: title, author, publisher, publication date, topic, and an abstract.
An abstract is a summary of the article. It is a very helpful tool for determining if the article you found in the database is right for you.
Academic Search Complete: One of our largest scholarly multidisciplinary databases that contains over 6,100 full text journals and indexing/abstracting for more than 10,000 journals. Use this database to find academic resources about your topic.
ProQuest Central : Another large scholarly multidisciplinary database that you can use to find academic resources about your topic. ProQuest Central includes over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text.
Google Scholar: This is a multidisciplinary database that is powered by Google. It enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
New York Times Digital Edition: As an AU student you have access to the digital edition of the New York Times for FREE! For more information about registration, visit this link.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context: Use this to find different perspectives on a topic. The resources in this database include reference articles, statistics, primary sources, academic articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, and more.
Points of View Reference Center: Use this resource to find overviews of topics, including arguments on multiple sides of an issue. In addition to original essays, this includes articles from leading political magazines, newspapers, radio/TV transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
Alfred University has over 200 Databases. You can browse them all here: Databases A-Z.
You can find specific databases by using the subject drop down menu to narrow to databases specific to your subject, or you can search for databases by name.
