This document was created in 2018 by the
Grinding Room at Alfred University as a
a visual companion to Cushing’s Handbook.
Great effort was taken to replicate the
original glazes. A minor variation is expected
as some of the materials listed are unspecific
and other materials are no longer
commercially available.
We are on a mission to help manufacturers and educators who not only want to make beautiful functional objects but have a sense of accountability for their durability, strength, and safety and a desire to take control and not abdicate it to suppliers, consultants, or educators.
Art and Art History
Vase with blue glaze in gradated shades, Heisei period (1989–present), 2001 Miyashita Zenji (Japanese, 1939–2012) Stoneware with blue glazes
Includes 30,000 articles and images on every aspect of the visual arts. Searchable images are from organizations such as the Metropolitan Museum of Art, as well as 40,000 editorially selected image links to museums and galleries, which provide essential visual support for art history scholarship.
Includes the Encyclopedia Britannica, World Data Analyst (statistics on the countries of the world), Gateway to the Classics (significant works in literature, philosophy, history, and science), Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, and more.
Art & Archaeology Technical Abstracts, Art & Architecture Thesaurus, Getty Museum Collections, Getty Research Library Photo Study Collection Database, Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names, Provenance Index Databases, and more.
Encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary and subject specific research in areas such as art, business, education, history, etc.
Maps
Library 0f Congress Map Collections: 1500-2002Organized into seven major categories: Cities and Towns, Conservation and Environment, Cultural Landscapes, Discovery and Exploration, General Maps, Military Battles and Campaigns, and Transportation and Communication.
