Libraries: Chemistry: Databases

What is a database?

A library database is a an electronic collection of published works. Library databases have been curated to help you research different topics. Most databases will have full text and abstracting/indexing for academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and other resources.

Full text means that the database will provide digital access to a copy of the articles in the journal.

Abstracting and indexing means that the database provides basic information about articles in a journal. This information usually includes: title, author, publisher, publication date, topic, and an abstract.

An abstract is a summary of the article. It is a very helpful tool for determining if the article you found in the database is right for you.

Chemistry Databases

ScienceDirect
Searches journals in the natural sciences, social sciences, medicine, technology, and business.
CAS SciFinder-n
Focuses on chemical structures, formulas, and properties. A unique feature is that you can visually search for a chemical by drawing the structure.
CAS SciFinder-n: First-Time User Registration
Before you can use the web-based version of CAS SciFinder-n, you must first register using the CAS SciFinder-n: First-Time User Registration link. After you submit the registration form, you will receive an email message. To complete the account set-up, click on the link in the email message within 24 hours.

NIST - Chemistry WebBook
Provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by NIST under the Standard Reference Data Program.

PubChem
PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.

U.S. Department of Energy OSTI.GOV
OSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for DOE science, technology, and engineering research and development results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information. It consolidates OSTI's home page and our now retired primary search tool SciTech Connect.
ChemSpider
Royal Society of Chemistry free chemical structure database. Search by chemical name or chemical structure.

American Chemical Society Publications
Search all ACS journals 1997 through current issue. Immediate full-text access is available for some journals; articles can be requested via interlibrary loan (ILL).

Journal Abbreviations

Some citation styles, especially in scientific or technical publications, use journal title abbreviations in the references list.

The CASSI search tool can be used to generate the abbreviated form of journal titles. The tool can also be used to look up an abbreviated title and determine the full name of the journal.

JournalSeek is another searchable database for journal information. It has more coverage for journals in the arts, humanities, etc. than CASSI.

Interdisciplinary Resources

ProQuest Central
A multidisciplinary database of over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. Subjects covered include business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly, multidisciplinary database containing more than 6,100 full-text journals, and indexing/abstracts for more than 10,100 journals.
JSTOR
Contains almost 1,000 full-text journals spanning multiple disciplines. Some journals go to back to the mid-1800's. There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issues and the issues available in JSTOR.
MasterFILE Premier
Provides full text for more than 1,730 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues and much more.
Research Library
Abstracts and full text for scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. Covers the arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's studies.
WorldCat (FirstSearch)
WorldCat lets you search the collections of libraries around the world.
General Science Collection
Scholarly journals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments in biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses
A comprehensive database of dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries. Many can be borrowed from the publishing institution through interlibrary loan (ask at the library for more information).
Google Scholar
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.