Libraries: Education: Reference

Reference

Education Testing Service

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Mental Measurements Yearbook is a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Tests in Print is a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. Tests in Print provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date, and test authors.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary and subject specific research in areas such as art, business, education, history, etc.

U.S. Department of Education
Includes education news, statistics, advice, ideas, teaching materials, and more.

Data & Statistics

Departments of Education by State
Each department offers different information, but a researcher can be fairly assured of finding certification requirements and data concerning individual schools.
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System
Search for colleges and universities using criteria such as
type of school, school size, program or degree offered, location, distance from a specified zip code, and name.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) NCES collects and analyzes all types of data related to education. Includes prevalence of students in special education You can also create and export lists of schools, colleges and libraries based on state and/or other criteria.
National Education Association
Provides both current and projected statistics for public K-12 schools on a local, state and national level including enrollment, attendance, salaries and per student outlay
School District Demographics Website
Provides access to school district geographic and demographic data.
Schools and Staffing Survey
Surveys personnel in public, private and Bureau of Indian Education schools in the 50 states and the District of Columbia to track school trends on a national basis. Key demographic reports include data on the number of students, principals, school media centers, and teachers in public, private, and Bureau of Indian Education elementary and secondary schools.
State Education Data Profiles Users may compare up to four states on key educational data, including demographics, finances, enrollment, public libraries and postsecondary education.
Tuition and Fees Database A searchable database of tuition at more than 3,000 colleges and universities. You may search by state, Carnegie classification, type of institution, or any combination of these.
U.S. Census Bureau
Research demographic factors by geographic locations and/or a variety of factors including age, sex, race, income, land area and population density, housing occupancy, and more.
U.S. Department of Education
Includes education news, statistics, advice, ideas, teaching materials, and more.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
This is the premier place to locate international education statistics.