Reference books include encyclopedias, almanacs, handbooks, guides, and maps. They can help you find quick factual information and are a good place to get background information. Use the below links to find out general information about your topic.
Includes the Encyclopedia Britannica, World Data Analyst (statistics on the countries of the world), Gateway to the Classics (significant works in literature, philosophy, history, and science), Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary, and more.
This 3-vol. set is an accessible and scholarly reference that provides a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States.
1,150 articles written by eminent scholars covering major topics in art, government, and education as well as providing biographical entries on key figures of the period. Jonathan Dewald, Ed. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004. 3232 pp. 6 vols.
Includes 3,000 articles on all aspects of the period from the 5th to the 15th century, including art, architecture, religion, law, science, language, philosophy, and theology, as well as cultural, religious, intellectual, social and political history.
Encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary and subject specific research in areas such as art, business, education, history, etc.
Search or browse data held by the U.S. Census Bureau throughout history. You can view the data in multiple formats including map visualizations and data tables.
Search or browse data held by the U.S. Census Bureau throughout history. You can view the data in multiple formats including map visualizations and data tables.
Held by the University of Illinois, the Historical Maps Online collection contains images of maps charting the last 400 years of historical development in Illinois and the Northwest Territory, including historic topographic maps of Illinois. The collection also contains early large-scale topographic quadrangles published by the United States Geological Survey in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Collection size: approximately 420 maps.
Provides historical information about cities and towns in England during the Middle Ages, including primary source material. Maintained by a librarian at the Canadian Museum of Civilization.
