Libraries: Computers/Computer Science: Databases

What is a database?

A library database is a an electronic collection of published works. Library databases have been curated to help you research different topics. Most databases will have full text and abstracting/indexing for academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and other resources.

Full text means that the database will provide digital access to a copy of the articles in the journal.

Abstracting and indexing means that the database provides basic information about articles in a journal. This information usually includes: title, author, publisher, publication date, topic, and an abstract.

An abstract is a summary of the article. It is a very helpful tool for determining if the article you found in the database is right for you.

Recommended Databases

Computer Science Leading business and technical publications in the computer, telecommunications, and electronics industries. The database includes computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.
Computing Database Computer science journals, some in full text.
General Science Collection Scholarly journals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments in biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
Science Database Journals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic OneFile
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly, multidisciplinary database containing more than 6,100 full-text journals, and indexing/abstracts for more than 10,100 journals.
Ebook Central
Contains the full text of over 150,000 academic and general-interest books. Subject areas covered include business and economics, computers, technology and engineering, humanities, life and physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences.
eBook Collection on EBSCOhost
A multidisciplinary collection of about 150,000 electronic books.
General OneFile
News, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines.
Google Scholar
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
JSTOR
Contains almost 1,000 full-text journals spanning multiple disciplines. Some journals go to back to the mid-1800's. There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issues and the issues available in JSTOR.
MasterFILE Premier
Provides full text for more than 1,730 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues and much more.
ProQuest Central
A multidisciplinary database of over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. Subjects covered include business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses
A comprehensive database of dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries. Many can be borrowed from the publishing institution through interlibrary loan (ask at the library for more information).
WorldCat (FirstSearch)
WorldCat lets you search the collections of libraries around the world.
WorldCat.org
WorldCat.org is a public website that lets you search the holdings of thousands of libraries worldwide.

Search for Articles in Primo

Find Journals in Primo

Find journals by title or ISSN: