Modern Languages: Databases

A database for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope. Includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. Also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.

Contains almost 1,000 full-text journals spanning multiple disciplines. Some journals go to back to the mid-1800's. There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issues and the issues available in JSTOR.

Provides full-text articles from over 300 high-quality, peer-reviewed journals in the humanities, arts, and social sciences. Most journals are available beginning between 1990 and 2000 to the present.

Covers the humanities, with full-text from more than 900 journals.

This database includes full-text journals and other sources in linguistics, including many titles indexed in Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA). It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics.

Designed to meet the research needs of Spanish-speaking users with a wide range of full-text Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America.

Offers access to bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in Latin American and Caribbean journals, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues.

This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.

This database provides ongoing full-text academic journals that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many European countries, including France, Italy, Germany, Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland, Spain, and Portugal. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.

Ongoing full-text academic journals locally published in various East Asian and South Asian countries.The subjects cover major areas of study, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.

Ongoing full-text academic journals published in Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal. The subjects cover major areas of study, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.

Ongoing full-text academic journals published in Middle Eastern and African countries. The subjects cover major areas of study, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.

Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.

Scholarly, multidisciplinary database containing more than 6,100 full-text journals, and indexing/abstracts for more than 10,100 journals.

Contains the full text of over 150,000 academic and general-interest books. Subject areas covered include business and economics, computers, technology and engineering, humanities, life and physical sciences, and social and behavioral sciences.

A multidisciplinary collection of about 150,000 electronic books.

News, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines.

Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.

Contains almost 1,000 full-text journals spanning multiple disciplines. Some journals go to back to the mid-1800's. There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issues and the issues available in JSTOR.

Provides full text for more than 1,730 general periodicals covering a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, multi-cultural issues and much more.

A multidisciplinary database of over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. Subjects covered include business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.

A comprehensive database of dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries. Many can be borrowed from the publishing institution through interlibrary loan (ask at the library for more information).

WorldCat lets you search the collections of libraries around the world.

WorldCat.org is a public website that lets you search the holdings of thousands of libraries worldwide.