Libraries: Engineering: Databases

Top Engineering & Science Article Databases

Compendex (Engineering Village)
This engineering-specific database enables sophisticated searching of journals, conference proceedings, and more. It uses a vocabulary (keywords) that enables much more accurate searching.
ScienceDirect
Searches journals in the natural sciences, social sciences, medicine, technology, and business.
CAS SciFinder-n
Focuses on chemical structures, formulas, and properties. A unique feature is that you can visually search for a chemical by drawing the structure.
CAS SciFinder-n: First-Time User Registration
You'll need to register before you can use SciFinder Scholar. Don't worry, the process is easy.
SPIE Digital Library
Extensive resource focused on optics and photonics research. Applications span biomedicine, communications, sensors, defense and security, manufacturing, electronics, energy, and imaging.

Multidisciplinary Databases with Engineering Material

American Chemical Society Publications
Includes all ACS journals 1997 through current issue.
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from almost 1,200 publications in the applied sciences and computing. Publications include conference proceedings, trade publications, and journals.
Environment Abstracts
Search citations and abstracts from more than 950 journals focusing on the impact of people and technology on the environment. Note that this database does not have full-text articles.
Environment Complete
Full-text articles from over 900 journals on environmental topics, including renewable energy, environmental technology, public policy, and more. Search for citations from over 2,000 journals going back to 1888.
General Science Collection
Scholarly journals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments in biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
GreenFILE
Contains citations and some full-text of articles on global warming, energy conservation, natural resources, and pollution. Includes scholarly journals and popular magazines, going back to around 1975.
Science Database
Mostly full-text articles from over 1,000 journals in general and applied sciences. Database coverage goes back to 1986.

Find Journals in Primo

Find journals by title or ISSN:

Journal Abbreviations

Some citation styles, especially in scientific or technical publications, use journal title abbreviations in the references list.

The CASSI search tool can be used to generate the abbreviated form of journal titles. The tool can also be used to look up an abbreviated title and determine the full name of the journal.

JournalSeek is another searchable database for journal information. It has more coverage for journals in the arts, humanities, etc. than CASSI.

Materials and Chemical Properties Databases

Phase Equilibria Diagrams Online
A collection of more than 23,000 critically-evaluated phase diagrams in support of ceramics research. The database is a joint project of the American Ceramic Society and NIST and provides phase diagrams for oxides, salts, carbides, nitrides, brides, compound semiconductors, and chalcogenides.

Reference Data Tab
Find many more links to collections of data, properties, etc. on the Reference Data tab of this guide.

INTERGLAD is a glass properties database from the New Glass Forum. Email Samantha Dannick to access this resource.

Librarian

Samantha Dannick

Email Me

Subjects: Astronomy, Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Environmental Studies, Geology, Mathematics, Physics